Been having a great summer, and the new school year is coming up quickly. Since our trip to Disney, I have continued to enjoy a break from school. Without a doubt, summer break is one of the best parts of being a teacher. Being with my family and especially my two sons is priceless.

I have been to the beach several times, been to a wedding in Ohio, been fishing many times, and visited with friends and family.

However, my summer break has not been just time off! A misconception about teachers and summer break is that it is just vacation time. It is a vacation, but for most teachers there is a fair bit of work going on too. This summer I have worked with a week long Health Committee developing curriculum, worked with other math teachers learning how to use technology components in the classroom, developed new ideas and projects using Twitter, WordPress, and Skype for the upcoming year.

The new school is coming, and I am glad to get back to school. I have plenty of fresh ideas and plans to take back to my classroom

