Phew… What an end to a week this has been.

I wasn’t sure we could do it, but it looks like my class pulled it off. A few weeks ago I challenged them to step up and make a difference in they way school operates and take charge of designing a new classroom. We were relocating anyways, and this was the perfect chance to give my students the chance at being creative.

I have had a few late nights at school this week, and I’ve been a bit frazzled by allowing students work in the room, and continuing to teach all at the same time, but I think it was worth it. I think my favorite moment of the day was when another teacher came by to check out our room, becuase one of my students had been telling her how cool it was, and how much work she had been doing to get it done. My second favorite was watching my students teach my principal about BeyBlades, since they were asking to include it in the dismissal games area. Through the whole process I have been impressed with my students inventive thinking into rebuilding our room. I wish we had the time and money to make a few of their ideas that did not get used become a reality.

Here are a few photos of the room taken this week.

Here’s a look at the new room beginning to take shape.

Early Bulletin Board Work

Isaiah and Donell discuss the Game Center design.

Bobby checks out the new design, and adds his own art gallery to a cabinet.

Rayvin works on a display.

My son Bobby checks out finished setup, and point to the art gallery he added.

The new Rethink Center

The Game Center with school and dismissal versions.

Bobby works in the New Writing Center.

A look at the table setup. The boxes are for our books – an idea we came up with. Also, that’s the new Netbook Cart stationed under TV.

